Our 2019 edition wrapped last night at the ECA with our Scottish Animation programme and we’ve been delighted and
thrilled by the response to our programme!

Our most ambitious yet events started on Thursday 24th October at Cinetopia’s Networking event at Brewdog and ended at the ECA on the 10th November and after 10 months of hard work, it remains to give thanks to everyone who contributed to making 2019 such a successful year for the ESFF!

So, thanks to our head programmer and assistant director, Carys Evans and to our events co-ordinator, Sarah van den Hoogen, and to the many excellent and outstanding volunteers from the many fine film courses in Edinburgh!

thanks also to our fabulous and helpful venues, Raymah Tariq at the Filmhouse, Amber Cordiner at Summerhall and the Edinburgh College of Art.

Thanks to Dr Nichola Dobson and Jared Taylor at the ECA Animation school, and to Simon Hart of Puppet Animation Scotland. Thanks to our guest curators, Prof. Paul Stekler at the University of Texas, Screen Argyll in Tiree and O!PLA Polish Animation Festival, and CEE Animation Forum.

Thanks to Amanda Rogers and RPP Productions for the excellent videography and Luka Vukos for co-ordinating the photography.

Thanks to Ali Kerr of the Cyrenians and Jamie Robson our patron.

We are also grateful to our fabulous overseas festival guest curators: Guido Casale from Adriatic Film Festival, Marino Demata and Angelo Tantaro from Florence’s FilmCorti, Vasiliki Maltsoglou and Veroniki Krikoni from Balkans Beyond Borders Film Festival and Joao and Alexa Rodrigues from Shortcutz Amsterdam.

Thanks to Aidan Stanley of RTE for presenting our European Film Festivals night and to the inimitable David ‘Scoop’ Barclay for presenting our first Friday at Summerhall!

Thanks to Take One Magazine for covering the festival and to Mike Forbes for the print design.

Thanks to Hey Palu for the wine and of course, to the wonderful and engaged Edinburgh film audiences for coming in such numbers to support independent short film!

See you all in 2020 and in the meantime…….